TDM Studio

ProQuest TDM (Text and Data Mining) Studio allows you to create and analyze datasets from a selection of ProQuest newspapers.

Note

First time accessing TDM Studio? Register for an account with your Emory.edu email. Tips to register and get started.

Login Details

Individual Registration

Use of databases requiring a GBS SharePoint registration or login are restricted to current Goizueta Business School faculty, students and staff for academic, career and personal enrichment, and may not be used for internships or employers. Proper Use of GBL Databases

Which publications are licensed for text mining in TDM Studio?

To explore the list of publications, once you have logged in to the database, click "create dataset" and then choose either "publication title" or "ProQuest databases" to search and select titles.

Newspapers with recent coverage include:

2008-present: Barrons, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal
2009-present: USA Today
1932-present: Atlanta Daily World

The Atlanta Journal Constitution is available with historical coverage from 1946-1984

TDM Dashboards

TDM Studio offers two dashboards for text and data mining: Workbench and Visualization.

Which should I use?

Workbench	Visualization
You are a faculty member, PhD or MSBA student and comfortable using Python or R	You are not comfortable using Python or R
Write scripts using Python or R within TDM Studio’s Jupyter Notebook	Visualization options: Geographic Analysis, Topic Modeling, and Sentiment Analysis

Learn more about TDM Studio with ProQuest’s detailed research guide.

You may export up to 2 million documents per dataset.
You cannot download the datasets due to the licensing.
Reports can take several hours to generate, so run your search and then log back in later for your results.

Need More Help ?

Report a Problem

If you encounter a technical problem accessing this database, please let us know.

Proper Use of GBL Databases

Proper Use of Licensed Databases for Course-Affiliated Client Projects, Directed Studies, Field Studies, and Case Competitions. Have Questions? Send us a message at Ask a Librarian.